my pocket size of sky

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 9.25.02 AM

For future daughter and son, niece and nephew, neighbor kids, students, and you.

When you learn that this life will hit you, hard. I want you to know that this world is made out of sugar. It can crumble so easily but do not afraid to stick your tongue out and taste it.

“I create my own sky,
we may dissolve in the enormous breeze.
And you ask ‘what if I fall?’
Oh darling, what if you fly?

I create my own sky,
with colors of peach, plum, and pear.
And you ask ‘what if I feel sad?’
Oh darling, what if you feel right?

I create my own sky,
we glue the sparkles to unbounded space above.
And you ask ‘what if I lost?’
Oh darling, what if I embrace you in the midst of the stars?

I create my own sky,
the pocket size of sky.”

–your mom, your aunt, your teacher, your neighbor, and your friend.

Leave a Reply

